2018-19 Hearst Photojournalism II Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Photojournalism II– Picture Story/Series Competition of the 2018-2019 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The winners were selected from 86 entries submitted from 51 schools nationwide. In a recent addition to the program guidelines, the first-place winner automatically qualifies for the National Photojournalism Championship which will be held in San Francisco next June. The other top winners in this competition, along with the top finalists from the photo I competition, will submit additional photographs for the semi-final round of judging in April.
Finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the Hearst Journalism Awards National Championships, along with writing, radio, television and multimedia finalists.

First Place has been awarded to Alex Kormann from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Alex wins a $3,000 scholarship and qualifies for the National Championships.

Other top winners who qualify for the semi-final round:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Joel Angel Juárez, San Francisco State University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Liz Moughon, Ohio University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Cheyenne Thorpe, University of Oregon
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, James Wooldridge, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Michelle Hanks, Western Kentucky University
Seventh Place, certificate, Michael Blackshire, Western Kentucky University
Eighth Place, certificate, Nic Antaya, Michigan State University
Ninth Place, certificate, Chamberlain Smith, University of Georgia
Tenth Place, certificate, Blake Nissen, Ohio University

Western Kentucky University has won the 2018-19 Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the two photo competitions held this year.

It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Ohio University; San Francisco State University;
University of Iowa; Arizona State University; Ball State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of Oregon; University of Kentucky. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The photojournalism judges are: Erin Lubin, Freelance Photographer, San Francisco; Dai Sugano, Staff Photographer/Senior Multimedia Editor, The Mercury News; and Jose Luis Rios, Director of Photography,
San Antonio Express-News.

The 59th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 104 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.