2018-19 Hearst Multimedia I Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia I/Narrative Storytelling – Features Competition of the 2018-2019 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 74 entries from 46 schools submitted in the first multimedia competition of the year.

First Place has been awarded to Abby Cantrell, from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Abby will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning multimedia piece titled “The Story Keeper” published in Catawba Calling. Abby also qualifies to participate in the National Multimedia Championship which will be held in San Francisco, June 2-6, 2019.

The other top finalists are:
Second place, $2,000 award, Jason Armond, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Third place, $1,500 award, Katerina Procyk, Pennsylvania State University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Isaiah Somanas, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Kenneth Ferriera, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Mackenzie Behm, University of Florida
Seventh Place, certificate, Charlene Santiago, Arizona State University
Eighth Place, certificate, Vivian Acosta, Florida International University
Ninth Place, certificate, Rayna Sims, University of Missouri
Tenth Place, certificate, Ida Marie Odgaard, Western Kentucky University

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill placed first in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first of four multimedia competitions. It is followed by: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Pennsylvania State University; Western Kentucky University; University of Florida; Kent State University; Arizona State University; San Francisco State University (tie); Florida International University (tie); University of North Texas. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The Multimedia judges are: Danese Kenon, Director of Photography and Video, Philadelphia Inquirer, PA; Mark Morris, Independent Visual Consultant, CA; Brian Storm, Founder & Executive Producer, MediaStorm.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 59th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 104 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.