2015 Hearst National Writing Finalists Announced



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the eight journalism students from across the country who will compete in the 55th annual National Writing Championships held in San Francisco, June 1 – 5, 2015.

The finalists include five top winners in the monthly writing competitions and three entrants with the highest accumulated scores from two competitions, selected from 562 entries submitted this year.  At the Championship, the finalists will participate in various spot assignments and an interview chosen by our judges, competing for additional scholarship awards ranging from $1,500 to $5,000.

Also competing in the National Championships will be six photojournalism finalists, five radio broadcast finalists, five television broadcast finalists and five multimedia finalists.

The 2015 National Writing Championship finalists are:

Emilie Eaton, Arizona State University

Hannah Fleace, Indiana University

Evan Hoopfer, Indiana University

Megan Antonina Jula, Indiana University

Michael Majchrowicz, Indiana University

Samantha Schmidt, Indiana University

Faiz Siddiqui, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Cody Stavenhagen, Oklahoma State University

Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Arthur Brisbane, retired Editor and Corporate Executive, Knight Ridder Newspapers; Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Executive Editor, The Arizona Republic; and Mike Leary, Senior Vice President and Editor, San Antonio Express-News.

Presently, 108 colleges and universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools are eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  Funded and administered for 55 years by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, the Journalism Program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships, grants and stipends annually.

# # #


Contact: Jan Watten, program director