2013 Hearst Breaking News Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college breaking news writing were announced today in the 53rd annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to STEPHEN PIANOVICH, a junior from Pennsylvania State University.  Stephen will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his winning article “NCAA Lays Down Penalties” published in The Daily Collegian. Pennsylvania State University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other top five scholarship winners are:

BRITTANY  HORN, Pennsylvania State University, second place, $2,000 scholarship

KATIE  METTLER, Indiana University, third place, $1,500 scholarship

SAMUEL  LOUWAGIE, University of Iowa, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

ALEX  ORLANDO,  University of Florida, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit:

CAT  ZAKRZEWSKI, Northwestern University, sixth place

KATHERINE  LYMN, University of Minnesota, seventh place

SAMANTHA  MATSUMOTO, University of Oregon, eighth place

KATHERINE BLUNT, Elon University, ninth place

JACOB  DEMMITT, University of Georgia, tenth place

Pennsylvania State University has won the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the five writing competitions.  They are followed by: Indiana University; Northwestern University; University of Florida; Arizona State University; University of Kansas; University of Missouri (tie); University of Iowa (tie); University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The top three winners earn $10,000, $4,000, and $2,000 grants respectively. The top ten winners are awarded medallions. These awards will be presented during the National Championship in June.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of five monthly writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions and four multimedia competitions, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Ward Bushee, Editor and Executive Vice President, The San Francisco Chronicle; Marty Kaiser, Editor and Senior Vice President, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, and John Temple, most recently Managing Editor of The Washington Post.

There were 79 students from 44 universities who participated in this competition.  Samples of winning work can be viewed in the monthly winners section of the website.


Jan C. Watten, Program Director



# # #